Sahtu Land and Water Board Current Members

Tanya T. MacIntosh

Tanya T. MacIntosh is a Sahtu Land Claim beneficiary born in Fort Smith, NT. Spending her youth living all over the Northwest Territories in such communities as Tuktoyuktuk, Fort Providence, Yellowknife, and Deline. Moving to the Sahtu in 1989 she spent over 10 years working for the GNWT in Norman Wells.

In 2004, she graduated from the Geomatics Engineering Technologist Diploma program in Nova Scotia. Moving to Alberta for work in the Land Surveying industry, her work was primarily within Oil & Gas with some exposure to Mining and Land Claim Projects. As part of her work, Tanya had a variety of trips to the Sahtu to participate in multiple Career Day Fairs and other educational contributions.

Currently Tanya and her husband work in Alberta and spend their leisure time gardening, camping and hiking.

Tanya was appointed Chairperson in June of 2021. 

George Barnaby

George is a Sahtu Dene from Fort Good Hope where he has lived all his life. 

George has been very active in, and for his community in the political field.  He was with the Territorial Council, the Indian Brotherhood, and the Sahtu Tribal Council.

He is currently self-employed and is married with six children.

Violet Doolittle

Violet Doolittle was born at Sucker Creek, near Tulita, NT and raised here until the age of sixteen.  A Sahtu beneficiary, she resides and works in Inuvik, NT where she has been for the past 28 years.  She holds diplomas in Social Work and Addiction Studies and currently works as a Residential School Counsellor.  Violet has gladly given 20 years of service to the social field because she cares and enjoys helping people in need.  She is also fluent in the North Slavey language. 

Philippe di Pizzo

Gina Dolphus

To view Board Member appointments on the GNWT site, click here.